Minutes of the Board of Education Independent School District #2180 Regular Meeting #5 Treader New 12, 2010, 6:00 PM

Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019, 6:00 PM

High School Media Center/Holiday Inn Lobby, Downtown Duluth

Members Present: Tate Mueller, Julie Alsum, Scott Ruiter, Lane Schwitters, Debi Brandt (via Zoom), Carmel Thein.

Others Present: Sherri Broderius, Superintendent; Melissa Sparks, HS Principal, Judd Wheatley, Elem.

Principal, Kim Sandry, Business Manager; Jim Trulock, AD, Sam Peterson, Herald.

Guests: Mike Hubbard, Tony Dwire, Brian Heidbrink.

Chair Lane Schwitters called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm.

Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Thein, second by Ruiter, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public comment: None.

Approval of Consent Agenda:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Alsum, to approve the consent agenda.

Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Adoption of Minutes

Approve payment of bills and financial report.

Approve the Winter coaches as presented.

Approve the Paraprofessional Employment Agreement with K. Miller.

Approve the Paraprofessional Employment Agreement with A. Bergstrom.

Approve Medical Leave for A. Unke.

Approve the resignation of H. Rethlake.

Approve the Dishwasher Employment Agreement with M. Fairchild.

Approve the Retirement of Teacher – A. Reszel.

Business Items:

Motion by Thein, second by Alsum, to approve continuing the 4 Day School Week for July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2023. Motion carried 5-1, Brandt opposed.

Motion by Thein, second by Ruiter, to approve the Resolution Canvassing Returns of Vote of School District Special Election. (Appendix 1)

In favor: Thein, Mueller, Alsum, Brandt, Ruiter, Schwitters.

Opposed: none

Resolution is passed and adopted.

Motion by Brandt, second by Alsum, to approve the second and final reading of Policy 532 -Use of Peace Officers and Crisis Teams to Remove Students with IEP's from School Grounds. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Alsum, second by Mueller, to approve the first and final reading of Policy 802- Disposition of Obsolete Equipment and Materials.

Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Alsum, to approve the second and final reading of Policy 516-Student Medication.

Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Thein, to appoint Lane Schwitters to the MSHSL Governing Board. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Communications Reports:

Mrs. Smith: No report.

Mr. Trulock: Winter sports beginning.

Mr. Wheatley:.

Mrs. Sparks: Written. ACT testing data.

Ms. Broderius: 4 Day week meetings, legislation, MSBA conference.

Committee Report: None

Discussion Items: None

Meetings and Workshops:

Regular Board Meeting, Tuesday, Nov. 12, HS Media Center, 6pm. Truth-in-Taxation Meeting, Monday, Dec. 9, HS Media Center, 6pm. Regular Board Meeting, Monday, Dec. 9, HS Media Center, following TNT meeting. Regular Board Meeting, Monday, Jan. 13, HS Media Center, 6pm.

Adjournment of Meeting

Motion by Alsum, second by Thein, for adjournment. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Meeting adjourned at 6:38 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Julie Alsum, Clerk Kim Sandry, Business Manager

Appendix 1

EXTRACT OF MINUTES OF MEETING
OF THE SCHOOL BOARD
OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2180
(MACCRAY PUBLIC SCHOOLS)
CHIPPEWA COUNTY, MINNESOTA

Pursuant to due call and notice thereof, a regular meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 2180 (MACCRAY Public Schools), Chippewa County, Minnesota, was duly held in said school district on the 12th day of November, 2019, at 6 p.m. for the purpose, in part, of canvassing its special election.

The following members were present: Lane Schwitters, Deb Brandt, Scott Ruiter, Tate

Mueller, Carmel Thein, Julie Alsum

and the following were absent: none

Member Thein moved the adoption of the following resolution:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 2180, Chippewa County, Minnesota, as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the special election of the voters of this school district held on November 5, 2019, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 2020 voters of the district voted at said special election on Ballot Question 1: approving a renewed referendum levy authorization; and Ballot Question 2: authorizing general obligation building bonds of the school district.
- 3. A total of 1524 voters voting in favor of Ballot Question 1, and a total of 492 voters voting against the question, the question was approved.
- 4. A total of 1141 voters voting in favor of Ballot Question 2, and a total of 873 voters voting against the question, the question was approved.
- 5. The clerk is hereby directed to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by *Member Ruiter* and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: *Schwitters*, *Brandt, Ruiter, Mueller, Thein, Alsum.*

and the following voted against the same: none

whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

MACCRAY Nov. 5, 2019 Election Results

Operating Levy (Question 1)	Yes	No	Over Votes	Under Votes	Total
Absentee Ballots	684	58	0	0	742
	004	36	0	0	742
MACCRAY East (City of Raymond, Townships: St. Johns, Edwards, Holland, Willmar,					
Whitefield, City of Willmar)	293	193	0	0	486
MACCRAY West (City of Maynard,					
Townships: Crate, Havelock, Leenthrop,					
Grace, Louriston, Granite Falls, Stoneham,					
Wang)	228	157	1	2	388
MACCRAY High School (City of Clara City,					
Woods, Lonetree, Rheiderland)	319	84	0	1	404
Total	1524	492	1	3	2020

Puilding Rand (Question 2)			Over	Under	
Building Bond (Question 2)	Yes	No	Votes	Votes	Total
Absentee Ballots	646	94	0	2	742
MACCRAY East (City of Raymond, Townships: St. Johns, Edwards, Holland, Willmar,					
Whitefield, City of Willmar)	123	361	0	2	486
MACCRAY West (City of Maynard, Townships: Crate, Havelock, Leenthrop, Grace, Louriston, Granite Falls, Stoneham,					
Wang)	100	287	0	1	388
MACCRAY High School (City of Clara City, Woods, Lonetree, Rheiderland)	272	131	0	1	404
Total	1141	873	0	6	2020

Absentee Voters Were From:

MACCRAY East (City of Raymond, Townships:	
St. Johns, Edwards, Holland, Willmar,	
Whitefield, City of Willmar)	45
MACCRAY West (City of Maynard,	
Townships: Crate, Havelock, Leenthrop,	
Grace, Louriston, Granite Falls, Stoneham,	
Wang)	195
MACCRAY High School (City of Clara City,	
Woods, Lonetree, Rheiderland)	502
Total	742